Powershell Script to populate fields between related objects

Mar 31, 2011 at 5:09 PM
Edited Mar 31, 2011 at 7:06 PM

Hi all

I am relatively new to Powershell, but have been involved heavily in the past few months with Service Manager automation and scripting. I'm a first time poster, but long time fan of this site.

I am trying to use a powershell script to populate the Priority and ScheduledEndDate fields on an activity with the values that exist in the Priority and TargetResolutionTime on the parent incident object. This is the script I have so far. This runs succesfully, but asks me for a parameter SMObject. I don't want to enter a parameter, i just want it to automatically go through and do this for each incident. Any suggestions?

$incident = Get-SCSMClass Incident$
$activityRel = Get-SCSMRelationshipClass sactivity

Foreach ($incident in Get-SCSMObject $incident)
{
  $activity = Get-SCSMRelatedObject -Relationship $activityRel|Where{$_.Type -eq 'System.WorkItem.Activity.ManualActivity'}
  if($activity -NE $NULL)
  {
  Set-SCSMObject -Object $activity -Property Priority -Value $incident.Priority
  Set-SCSMObject -Object $activity -Property ScheduledEndDate -Value $incident.TargetResolutionTime
  }
}
Developer
Apr 1, 2011 at 12:03 AM

the Get-SCSMRelatedObject cmdlet is the one that is asking for the smobject because Get-SMRelatedObject works against an instance, so it must be provided.

Try something along the following lines instead (I haven't tried this, but I think it's the right approach):

$incident = Get-SCSMClass System.WorkItem.Incident$
get-scsmobject $incident | %{
  $_ |get-scsmrelatedobject -relationship $activityRel |
    ?{ $_.type -eq 'System.WorkItem.Activity.ManualActivity' }
  } | set-scsmobject -whatif -propertyHash @{
       AffectedUser = $incidentObject.AffectedUser
       ScheduledEndDate = $incidentObject.TargetResolutionTime
       }
Apr 4, 2011 at 3:37 PM

Thanks Jim